Meet Jan Lynne

Jan is another talented fine art photographer whose work I have been aware of for a very long time. I don’t know where I first saw her name surface—probably the iColorama Facebook group, as we are both big fans of that app. In fact, Jan shares my iOS app addiction. Like me, she experiments with many different apps; I just learned today of a new one to try from perusing her Facebook feed two minutes ago! Have a look at her lovely work, and enjoy!

When did you get into digital art and/or photography, and what attracted you to this art form?

I’ve been a photographer as long as I can remember, starting when I was a child.

I took a couple of Photoshop classes years ago but became frustrated because I didn’t understand the concepts of layers and masking. As soon as I bought an iPad, I started manipulating my photos with photo apps and slowly learned these techniques. I started with the app Diptic and used the frames to play with symmetry. From there I discovered iColorama and a lot of other apps, and it was all over. I realized early on that I had found my medium.

Do you have any formal training?

I’m mostly self-taught. My mother is an artist and I learned a lot from her. I took some general art classes at a local art school but my work with editing photos is self-taught.

What type of camera do you use: digital camera or iPhone? What model is it?

My everyday camera is my iPhone 6. I also shoot with my Canon EOS 60D. I love them both. The iPhone is always with me so I can grab photos anywhere. When I go out specifically to take photos, I’ll take my Canon.

What type of technology platform do you use for your artwork? Desktop or iOS? Both?

I work 100% with iOS. I may revisit Photoshop eventually, but I love the versatility and portability of iOS apps.

Do you have a genre of art or photography for which you are best known (fractals, for example, or black and white photography).

I love to work with bright colors, nature, architecture and portraits. I’ve done a series of portraits of people in costumes. I like the juxtaposition of the old and the modern, the natural and the hard-edged.

Where do you get your inspiration?

From so many places! I often look for photography subjects when I’m out and about. Sometimes I’ll be composing a piece in my head as I take photos, and sometimes I’ll get an idea from an old photo I took years ago. The work of artists I admire has always been an influence. Sometimes I just let it flow and I’m not sure where it’s coming from. I tend to stay up late when I do my artwork and my creativity seems to flow more easily late into the night and early morning.

Do you do image manipulation of your photos? What are your favorite apps for this purpose? Do you have one overall favorite app that you turn to over and over again?

Yes, I digitally “cut out” or mask out parts of my images to use in compositions. I use Superimpose and Union a lot for this purpose.   Superimpose allows you to save the objects you cut out so you can use them again. I love how Union lets you save the projects and return to them.

What are your favorite apps for creating digital art? Do you have one overall favorite that you turn to over and over again?

My overall favorite app, hands-down, is iColorama. It is ridiculously full of features that the developer constantly updates and improves. If the only iOS app available was iColorama, I doubt I could master all the features. (Editor note: I’m in agreement with her there. iColorama is my favourite too, for both general editing and specialized effects.)

I also love the Pixite suite of apps. I’m drawn to graphic elements, and Pixite does this better than anyone else. I also use Stackables, Formulas, and Mextures for textures, and Snapseed, Tangled FX, RollWorld, DecoSketch, Decim8, and Repix, among others. (Editor note: Pixite makes Union, Tangent, Fragment, Assembly, LoryStripes, Matter, and many more popular apps.)

What role does social media play in getting word out about your art or photography? Which platforms do you rely on the most, and why?

I enjoy posting my work on Facebook and Instagram. I like reading the encouraging words of my friends when they comment. Art is a solitary exercise and it’s great to make your work public, for all to see and hopefully enjoy. I haven’t concentrated on marketing my work because I’m not selling right now, but I see great potential for this on social media.

What Facebook groups related to digital art or photography do you belong to? Which do you moderate?

On Facebook, I belong to iColorama, Dogsitter’s App Circus, The SmART Gallery, and Appstracts, among others. So far I haven’t moderated any groups. I wish I had the time to complete all the challenges in my groups. I’ve met some amazing artists and friends by participating. I can’t say enough wonderful things about their members and moderators.

Are there digital art or photography blogs or sites that you follow or maintain? What are they?

TheAppWhisperer and iPhoneography Central are the sites I visit most frequently.

Do you enter contests or competitions? Have you won any awards? Tell us about them.

I have entered weekly challenges held by Facebook and Instagram groups. My work has been featured in all the Facebook groups and by several on Instagram.

Do you exhibit your work in public galleries?

No, so far I haven’t had the pleasure of a public show.

Do you sell your work online? Where?

I’m thinking about selling my work on Etsy but haven’t started selling yet.

Any words of wisdom for beginners?

Take tons of photos and experiment! When I was learning to edit photos, I practiced by trying to duplicate the various techniques in artwork I liked. This was only for learning purposes and not for public consumption. There were quite a few times when I was puzzled while trying to figure out how someone accomplished a certain look or technique. Whatever happens, don’t give up because the rewards are worth it. Join a group and see for yourself how supportive and welcoming its members are.

Only post your best work. Resist the urge to post immediately. Sleep on it. Sometimes you will come up with a finishing touch later, and you don’t want to think of it five minutes after you post!

Thank you for the opportunity to talk about my work! I hope your readers will enjoy creating their own work.

Jan’s links:

2 thoughts on “Meet Jan Lynne

Leave a comment